Tokyo wards map

Map of Tokyo wards. Tokyo wards map (Kantō - Japan) to print. Tokyo wards map (Kantō - Japan) to download. The special Tokyo wards (特別区 tokubetsu-ku?) are 23 municipalities that together make up the core and the most populous part of Tokyo, Japan as its shown in Tokyo wards map. Together, Tokyo wards occupy the land that was the city of Tokyo before it was abolished in 1943. Tokyo special wards structure was established under the Japanese Local Autonomy Law and is unique to Tokyo.
In Japanese, Tokyo wards are commonly known as the "23 wards" (23区 nijūsan-ku?) as its mentioned in Tokyo wards map. All Tokyo wards refer to themselves as cities in English, even though the Japanese designation of tokubetsuku is unchanged. Tokyo wards is merely a grouping of special wards; there is no associated single government body. Special wards of Tokyo are one of the basic local entities of Japan. They are "special wards" because they are different from the wards (区 ku) of other major Japanese cities.
In 1889, 15 Tokyo wards were established in the city of Tokyo. The number of Tokyo wards grew to 35 in 1932. The number of wards became 23 in 1947. The traditional districts of Tokyo evolved as the city grew during the Edo period. There are many districts in Tokyo special wards as you can see in Tokyo wards map.